Winter Family Program

Marvellous Messengers: Communicating in Wartime



Can you decipher the coded message in the walls of our courtyard?

Discover the fascinating ways, both openly and secretly, that service people on deployment have communicated with each other, headquarters and home. Learn how – before the internet – people from faraway countries kept in touch with their families and how news from home travelled to them. Children will be given an opportunity to create a mysterious message of their own.

This program has been designed for children aged 6 to 10 years. Children must be accompanied by a parent or adult guardian. Guided tours operate Monday to Friday and a self-guided activity sheet is available on weekends. Group sizes will be limited to small groups of 15 children.
Tour times: 10.15am or 1.15pm
Duration: 45 minutes
Tour days: Select from one of the following dates
Monday 27 June, Tuesday 28 June, Wednesday 29 June, Thursday 30 June or Friday 1 July
Monday 4 July, Tuesday 5 July, Wednesday 6 July, Thursday 7 July or Friday 8 July
Recommended for: Children aged 6 to 10 years (children must be accompanied by a parent or adult guardian)
Meet at: Reception in the Shrine Visitor Centre
Cost: By donation/free

Self-Guide Tour Brochure: Available from the Shrine Visitor Centre Reception desk all day on Saturdays and Sundays over the school holiday period. The family activity sheet for this program is available for download or can be collected from reception. 

School holiday program operators please contact education@shrine.org.au to book a tour for your holiday group.