Shrine of Remembrance Medal

The 2017 Recipient is Mr Steven Bloxham

Described as a 'breath of fresh air’ for the RSL in the Western District, Mr Steven Bloxham was announced as the 2017 Shrine of Remembrance Medal recipient in a special presentation following the Remembrance Day Service.

Nominated by his local MP, Richard Riordan, Member for Polwarth, Mr Bloxham’s outstanding achievements in promoting the contribution of veterans in his community were recognised. Mr Bloxham was credited as being the driving force behind a number of initiatives that had elevated the honouring of service men and women from the Terang area and the surrounds.

Among his many accomplishments was the establishment of a museum at the RSL in Terang. Mr Bloxham worked tirelessly to research and amass memorabilia and information from local ex-servicemen and their families, so that their stories were appropriately recognised, ensuring that their contributions are not forgotten.

As well as being a repository of local service history, the museum has become a centre for learning, offering programs for local school groups, engaging students so they can understand more about Australia’s war history. Mr Bloxham was also instrumental in reviving the Anzac Day Dawn Services in both Terang and nearby Noorat, where he assisted locals there in accessing a community grant to create a memorial garden and install a flagpole.

Chairman of the Shrine Trustees Air-Vice Marshal Chris Spence AO (Retd) with 2017 Shrine of Remembrance Medal recipient Mr Steven Bloxham and Shrine CEO Mr Dean Lee.

Past Recipients

The Shrine Medal has a long and rich history. Read more about the outstanding achievements of previous recipients here.