Stories of service and sacrifice may cause distress.
See this resource list for help.

The Shrine welcomes new Chairperson

The Shrine welcomes new Chairperson

Thursday, 4 February 2021 at 5:05 am
Department of Premier and Cabinet
Call to arms at the Shrine of Remembrance

Captain Stephen Bowater OAM has been announced as the new Chairperson of the Shrine of Remembrance.

With more than 40 years of naval service, Captain Bowater brings with him a wealth of knowledge from experience in Australia and abroad.

In his current role as the Royal Australian Navy's actively serving Commander Shore Force, Captain Bowater oversees Australia’s 14 naval bases and 3,000 staff, as well the Navy's shore-based responses to the 2019-20 Australian bushfires and the 2020 coronavirus outbreak in Australia.

Captain Bowater was also a Senior Naval Officer in Victoria from 2013-17 and has sound knowledge of military history and commemorations and ceremonies in Victoria.

During his service, Captain Bowater served in Iraq and Kuwait and has experience on nine operational deployments.

As Chairperson of the Shrine, Captain Bowater succeeds Air Vice-Marshal Chris Spence AO (retired) and will lead the Trustees' Board of Directors who are responsible for the care, management, maintenance and preservation of the Shrine of Remembrance and the Shrine Reserve land.

We also recognise outgoing Chairperson Air Vice-Marshal Spence who has dedicated 8 years of service with the Shrine and leaves a significant legacy of achievements including preserving the Shrine's prominence as a site for Victorian and national commemoration.