Meet the people who care for the Shrine



The Shrine Trustees form the Board of Directors. They are appointed by the Governor in Council on behalf of the state of Victoria. The Trustees are responsible for the care, management, maintenance and preservation of the Shrine of Remembrance and the Shrine Reserve land.

Captain Stephen Bowater OAM has been announced as the new Chairperson of the Shrine of Remembrance


  • Captain Stephen Bowater OAM (Chairman)
  • The Right Honourable the Lord Mayor Sally Capp (Melbourne City Council representative)
  • Dr Robert Webster OAM (RSL representative)
  • Graeme Plumridge OAM (Legacy representative)
  • Sue Blake
  • Tracey Curro
  • Roger Clifton JP
  • Nikki Deighton
  • Colonel Catherine (Bunny) Carrigan


Shrine of Remembrance Trustees
c/o GPO Box 1603
Melbourne VIC 3001

Shrine Governors

Life Governors and Governors assist the Trustees in the conduct of commemorative services.

Life Governors

  • Colonel George P Mackenzie OBE RFD
  • Lieutenant Colonel David W Ford CVO AM GM
  • Lieutenant Colonel Adrian J Lombardo
  • Mr Peter R Whitelaw


  • Colonel John Coulson OAM RFD ED
  • Major Maggie More RFD
  • Group Captain Annette Holian
  • Commander Terry Makings AM
  • Squadron Leader Steve Campbell-Wright
  • Lieutenant Commander Jan Gallagher
  • Colonel Jason Cooke

Shrine staff

The Shrine staff, led by the executive team, carry out the day to day operations of the Shrine including ceremonial, education, administration, marketing, fundraising and other duties.

Chief Executive Officer

The CEO is accountable to the Board of Trustees and is responsible for developing, directing and managing the Shrine’s resources to achieve the objectives of the Trustee’s Strategic Plan - subject to approved Delegations of Authority.


The Executive supports the CEO in managing activities and resources of the Shrine in the delivery of the approved Business Plan and Budget. The Shrine is structured into 3 directorates: Corporate Services, Public Programs and Visitor Experience. Each is managed by a designated director.


The Shrine employs 40 staff (approximately 30 FTE) who deliver day to day programs and perform activities that support the organisation’s Mission.


The Shrine maintains a cohort of more than 100 Volunteers who provide over 14,000 hours of service each year in support of educational, visitor service and exhibition programs.


The following committees assist the Trustees in the performance of their duties:

Audit and Risk Management Committee

The Audit and Risk Management Committee considers matters including:

  • corporate governance and compliance
  • risk management
  • operating and capital budgets
  • oversight of financial management practices
  • statutory compliance

Ceremonial Committee

The Ceremonial Committee considers matters including:

  • ceremonial protocols and policy
  • the conduct of commemorative service
  • applications to conduct services and place memorial plaques

Remuneration Committee

The Remuneration Committee considers remuneration related matters.

Reviewed 20 April 2021

Was this page helpful?