The Shrine has been illuminated at night by four light towers for the last 88 years. They were not part of the original plans of the Shrine. They were a bold and somewhat controversial addition.
The original 1000-watt projectors first lit up in October 1932, when the memorial was still a building site. At the time it could be seen from as far away as the Port Phillip Heads.
Many felt the Shrine should be lit to serve as a beacon in the night but stopping the theft of brick and steel was a more practical reason to have lights. As it was the middle of the Depression, others felt it was too extravagant to spend money on the lighting.
The towers are made of pressed cement blockwork around a reinforced concrete core—solid and built to last. Over time, the role of the towers has expanded. Today they provide power, data, sound and video connectivity for external broadcasters.
They also support the many services held on the Second World War Memorial Forecourt.
Read more about the restoration of the Light
Driver and Wipers
The ‘Driver and Wipers’ sculpture commemorates the soldiers who fought and died at Ypres, Belgium in the First World War.
Explore with your family
Our Shrine Kids and Explorer Kit activities and programs take the whole family on a journey of discovery.
Reviewed 30 March 2021