Trustee meetings, committee structure and committees at the Shrine of Remembrance.

Trustee meetings

During 2020–21, the Shrine of Remembrance Trustees held 6 ordinary meetings.

Committee structure

Three committees support the corporate governance framework that provides informed recommendations to
the Board of Trustees.

The Committees are supported by the Chief Executive Officer and Director Corporate Services with other members of the executive team aiding as required. Committees may also co-opt external parties with relevant expertise to participate as required.


  • The purpose of the Audit and Risk Management Committee (ARMC) is to assist the Board by providing assurance about the integrity of the financial processes, systems and reporting of the Shrine. It does this by considering financial and related reports from management and internal and external auditors and establishing and reviewing compliance with a risk management framework.

    Standing Directions under the Financial Management Act 1994External Link also require the ARMC to oversee and advise the Board on matters of accountability and internal control affecting operations.

    The ARMC comprises independent members who meet the criteria for independence within the Financial Management Compliance Framework guidelines.

    The committee met on 7 occasions in 2020–21.

    Committee members throughout the period included:

    • Sue Blake (Trustee and Committee Chair)
    • Robert Webster (Trustee)
    • Catherine "Bunny" Carrigan (Trustee)
    • Michael Lawriwsky (Independent Member)
  • The purpose of the Ceremonial Committee is to make recommendations and provide advice to the Board on ceremonial matters and related policies. The committee met on 2 occasions in 2020–21.

    Committee members throughout the period included:

    • Graeme Plumridge (Trustee and Committee Chair)
    • John Coulson (Shrine Governor)
    • Maggie More (Shrine Governor)
    • Terry Makings (Shrine Governor)
  • The purpose of the Remuneration Committee is to determine Chief Executive Officer (CEO) remuneration and validate the individual remuneration packages set by the CEO for executives. The committee is also responsible for establishing succession and career development plans for the CEO and monitoring the succession and career development plans set by the CEO for executives. The committee met on 1 occasion during 2020–2021.

    Committee members during the reporting period were:

    • Chris Spence (Committee Chair) (Chairman of Trustees)
    • Robert Webster (Trustee)
    • Sue Blake (Trustee)
  • The Shrine’s Occupational Health and Safety Committee meets 4 times each year and includes nominated and trained Health and Safety Representatives from Designated Working Groups of the staff, volunteer and Victoria Police (Shrine Guard) representatives. Issues covered include WorkSafe matters, OHS incidents and matters of general workplace health and safety.

    During the 2020–21 reporting period, the Shrine’s OHS Committee met 4 times. Additional to its standing responsibilities, in 2020–21 the committee also considered and made recommendations related to the development and implementation of the Shrine’s COVID Safe Plan(s).

    Pleasingly, no lost time injuries occurred in 2021–21.

Reviewed 01 November 2021

Was this page helpful?